facebook   twitter   mail  

The Nelson Photo News




Croquet Tournament

For two weeks, croquet enthusiasts throughout the Nelson association's district wielded their mallets to good effect in the season's first big tournament. There were 39 players.


Trophy winners. Back row: Mesdames H. Knight, M. Mead, F. Barltrop, M. McLachlan, S. P. Martin. Front row: Mesdames I. Wyver, S. E. Sanderson, M. A. Heather (manager of tourney), E. H. Wilson, J. Biddle (an impressive list of awards). S. J. Guppy, and H. S. Claughton (president of association). Mr G. D. Rowling (Riwaka), open champion was absent.


Mr N. R. Kearns (Brightwater) is congratulated by Mrs F. Williams at the conclusion of their final.


Roses, meant for Mayoress, are presented to the Mayor, Mr S. I. Russell, by Mrs Biddle.


A general view as the Mayor opened the tournament