facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News



The Season Ends

The season has ended once again for the Saturday morning schoolboy players in the Junior Rugby Advisory Board competitions. With over 1000 boys taking part, the competitions have meant much hard work for the volunteers who manage the games.

This year former East Coast and Poverty Bay representative Claude Rickard presented the 13th grade trophy winners with their cups at the Oval.


Mr Rickard (right), shown with Mr Dick Kearns (chairman of the Junior Rugby Advisory Board), addressing the boys.


Thirteenth A grade winners were Manutuke. From left, in front: Daryn Goodall, Grant Mclntyre, Phillip Nepia, Terry Poynton, Ben Tureia and Colin Gordon. Back row: Dawson Jones, Mr Kearns, Robert Whaitiri, John Tureia (captain), Mr Rickard, Dion Whaitiri, Desmond Pomona, Mr "Frosty" Goodall (assistant coach) and Haache Nepia.



Thirteenth B grade winners were Edmund Campion B. From left, in front: A. McBreen, P. Costello, Mr Rickard, S. Lloyd and W. Rowlands. Back row: W. Raggett, M. Davenport, B. Egan, R. Gardner, M. Vita jnr (captain), S. McCafferty, N. Kane, K. Grealish and A. Hampson. Also pictured are Mr Kearns and the team's coach, Mr Mike Vita.


The twelfth grade winners, Kaiti A, were presented with their trophy by P.B. rep. David Kirkpatrick, who is shown at back with the team's coach, Mr Bob Preston. The team is, from left, in front: Martin Ball, Thomas Farr, Philip Reed and Sommie Taylor. At back: Anthony Hiko, Brent Swann, Michael Mita, John McClutchie (captain), Brian Ngata and Victor Simpson.



Eighth grade winners were Intermediate A and this team received their trophy from Mr J. White, headmaster of the Intermediate School, From left, in front: Kahu Ripia, Jim Brown, Mark Schultz, Laurie Holmes (captain), Roger Broughton, Darcy Leach, Detts Edwards and Richard Williams. Back row: Peter Christensen, Shane Baker, Mr White, Kevin Wooster, Pera Ngerengere, Tini Kotuhi, Joe Harvey, Dave Edwards, Mr R. Penhearow (coach) and Dennis Greaves.


Winners of the ninth grade competition were the Intermediate A ninth grade team. From left, in front: Richard Hawkins, Shane Campbell, Basil Franklin, David Aston, Barry Croker, Ronald Westrupp, Bill Pomana and Maku Turei. At back: Kevin Collier, Anderson Phillips, Gary Muir, Ross Browne (captain), Wiremu Rangiwai, Kim Callaghan, Michael Denham and Kerry Callaghan.