facebook   twitter   mail  

The Nelson Photo News



Around Town


Members of the staff of J. D. and L. Robertson enjoy the last Christmas party to be held on the company's present premises in Hardy Street. At the moment the company is shifting its headquarters to Bolt Road, Tahuna. The firm has occupied its Hardy Street premises since 1902. A start has already been made on a mall which will be sited on the present factory. At top, Mr Bernie McMullan, manager of the firm, presents Don Batt and Jim Law with photographs to mark their 20 years' service to the firm.


"Whoa thar, you ornery moke," seems to sum up the feelings of young Jim Hall, punchin' cows at the rodeo.


Carolyn and Christine Spillett help Kelvin Menzies, chairman of the Nelson branch of the Save the Children Fund, and Vic Sherwood, Nelson Savings Bank manager, to pack Christmas parcels left at the bank to be sent overseas to children less fortunate than ours.


All "Photo News" Magazines


Gisborne, Tauranga, Rotorua,

New Plymouth, Whangarei, and Wanganui

are available from:



These young men and ladies will be teaching your children this year. Last year they worked in Nelson district schools as teacher trainees, but at this ceremony at the end of last year they graduated as fully-qualified teachers. Back row: Messrs D. V. Correa-Hunt, A. Koed, F. Goodsir, M. C. Wratt, Misses B. A. Carson, C. A. Ward, Messrs J. R. Nixon, M. D. Ellery, A. C. Tait, L. D. Penman. Middle rows Mrs S. G. Landreth, Misses D. L. Brandon, G. Richards, V. F. Bennett, M. E. Brown, C. F. Buckingham, J. M. Cox, M. H. Scrimgeour, L. J. Guard, L. D. Bastion, L. P. Sutherland, H. J. Spence. Front row: Misses C. L. Clark, J. McNaughton, M. E. Fox, Mesdames W. L. Duffy, M. J. Todd, Mr J. J. Lee (senior inspector of schools), Mr J. S. Allan (guest speaker), Mr B. C. Spiers (chairman, Nelson Education Board), Misses R. Dyke, P. M. Catterall, E. Vandersar, D. C. Scrimgeour, W. A. Frater.