facebook   twitter   mail  

The Nelson Photo News



About People


These nine members of the Motueka Maori Culture Group were part of the South Island (Te Waipounamu) Maori party which entertained the Royal party at Gisborne. They were, back: Gene Clark, Rangi Kawe, Ara Pinga, Shirley Taingahue, Hine Vincent and Hawea Grant. Front: Mary Kingi, Diane Little and Vera Ryland. (John R. Sharp, Motueka).


The Rivals Junior side of 1938, which won the junior championship. Among those in the Back Row are D. Agnew (a carpenter still living in Nelson), G. Bate (Post Office employee, a former secretary, president and a life member of the club) and H. Burton, who is living in Auckland. In the Middle Row are I. Ross (Post Office, Hawke's Bay); B. Pahl, (Braemar Hospital, Nelson); T. O'Boyle (Catchment Board, Nelson); K. Vallance (timber worker, Richmond). In the Front Row are D. McKenzie (truck driver, Nelson); E. Bovis (living in Auckland); and K. Woodward (a custodian, Takaka). The club is celebrating its 75th anniversary this year.