facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News



For The Second Time

For the second year in succession Messrs Archie Bayley and Russell MacGregor of Puha have won the national Olin Maize Yield competition. The award was presented by Mr Harold Sanden, United States Agricultural Attache. This took place at a function at the Sandown Park Hotel which was attended by a capacity crowd. Messrs Bayley and MacGregor's yield was 227.83 bushels per acre. Gisborne growers actually made a clean sweep of the first three places with local growers taking the other two prizes.


From left, Messrs Glenn Dye (Olin's Gisborne representative), Russell MacGregor, Archie Bayley, Ian Menzies (Olin's N.Z. manager), and Harold Sanden.


Messrs L. J. Torrie (second) and J. R. Keen (third).


Part of the large crowd at the awards function.