facebook   twitter   mail  

The Nelson Photo News



Waimea County Council

The experiment of postal voting in the Waimea county elections was extremely successful, about 82 per cent of electors returning voting forms. In two ridings, both of which were contested, the votes were 94.62 per cent and 87.68 per cent.

The new council (below) is, standing: Messrs G. R. Johnstone, T. W. Monahan, A. E. Wratt, E. W. King (new), A. J. Matthewson, M. R. Borlase, J. B. Greens lade, L. K. Evans (new), A. W. Ryder (new). Front: Messrs R. C. Macky (county engineer), J. L. Borlase (chairman), J. A. Geard (county clerk).