facebook   twitter   mail  

The Nelson Photo News



Nurses Graduate

Ten nurses at Nelson Public Hospital who completed their training recently were presented with their medals at a graduation ceremony in the new nurses' home. An eleventh, Staff Nurse B. D. Moore, was absent overseas. The graduates, pictured above with Miss M. Corkhill, matron of Nurse Maude association, Christchurch, the Medical Superintendent, Dr P. C. Brunette, and Nelson matron, Miss L. Stowell, are:- Back, Staff Nurses A. P. Plumridge, M. F. Pick, M. A. Pijfers, Sisters A. H. Leach, C. P. Lester, M. J. Coote, Staff Nurses P. J. Woolf, J. C. Hooper (who also won best practical nurse award) and M. J. Riordan. Front, Staff Nurses R. C. Flack, J. R. Francois, Miss Corkhill, Dr.Brunette, Miss Stowell, Staff Nurses A. V. Phal and E. A. Pearce.


The graduates take the Florence Nightingale pledge


Special prize-winners: Nurses Barnett, Langbein, Dixon, Hodgkinson, Fox, Lough


Sister D. E. Talbot, recently appointed Matron of Wairau Hospital, Blenheim, receives tribute from Nurse A. Harvey, president Student Nurses Association.