facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News





A unit of 10 cadets representing the Gisborne Army Cadet Corps were the winners of the N Z Cadet Corps Skill at Arms Cup. The competition between 9 Central Region cadet corps units is taken very seriously with individual & team activities including written & physical tests. They will compete at the National Finals in Christchurch in January.


Malcolm Brown, nominated by the Star Service Station, won the Customer Service Award for 1995-Trade and Related Services. He also won the overall Award for Retail Personality of the Year at an Awards Ceremony held at the Sandown Hotel. Guest speaker was TV & Radio personality "Mr America's Cup" Peter Montgomery. Malcolm was a popular winner who emphasises the benefits of teamwork.


2yrs of planning, 7 mths of construction & $300,000 (not including 1000's of hrs of volunteered labour or donated building materials) has transformed the No2 Shed at the wharf into a 1st class facility for the Tatapouri Sports Fishing Club. The Grey Power members (retired tradesmen) of the Club spearheaded the task of renovating the shed to its present state. Greypower and many of the tradesmen, workers and sponsors celebrated their achievment which will be an asset to the whole community.


S/Sgt Jason Tamihere, Sgt Aaryn Koia, L.Cpl Daegal Ross, Cdt Israel Aupouri, Cdt Jeremy Scott & CSM Jason Ataera (winner of Skill at Arms Leader Cup) Front: Cdt Roschelle Koia, Cdt Boynton Akurangi, Cdt Rawiri Wanoa & Cdt John Gerrard.


Some of the Star Service Station team: Malcolm Brown (left), Margaret White, Mike Virtue, Denzel Ashton, Debbie Brown and Dianne Virtue.




Graduating students of the Certificate in Outdoor Education, a one year Tairawhiti Polytechnic course run in conjunction with Sport Eastland with Tutor Paul McAndrew. The course covered among other things: kayaking, abseiling, bushcraft, river-crossing, snow caving, horse riding, snorkelling, caving, navigation, fishing, safe boating, outdoor 1st aid and rock climbing.


A very successful year for these musicians. The Band ADDAP (back from left): Amanda Maclean (drums), Band Leader Daniel Alexander (sax), Peter Clark (sax) with David Judd (bass) and Andrew Romero (lead guitar).


Murray Hewson & Ora Taukamo were awarded Mahi-A-Ringa Tane Toa and Wahine Toa for excellence in attitude, performing skills, commitment and discipline.


Award winners: Laura Hofman (left), Mark Gloyner, Michael Callaghan, Carman Tumanako, Lisa Henderson, Sonia August, Jamie Williams and Olivia Boyle with Gisborne Intermediate Principal Bruce Topham.


Standing: Bruce Te Reinga (left), Paula Walker, Debbie Mann, John Cameron and Adrian Savage. Seated: Beverly Gunn (left), Rocky Pere, Rehu Tuhura and Adam Crawford.