facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News




The Country Women's Institute recently held their ½ Yearly Council Meeting in the Ormond School Hall. At the meeting some special awards were presented.


Special awards this year included Long Service Bars - for 45 to 50 years of service to the C W I. Recipients were: Marie Allison (left), Bella Alley, Debbie Legg, Joyce Bacon, Betty Cooper, Vashti Saunders and Freda Peach with Alison Crawford Federation President.


Winners of trophies for the C W I Section of the A& P Show were: Erin Small (Tamarau) (left) - Nancy Hooper Cup for most points in knitting, Stella Huss (Makaraka/Matawhero) Nan Covell Cup for best piece of sewing, Joy Howe (Tamarau) Rose Bowl for most points in 5 articles in Courts, Vashti Saunders who collected for Jean Lees (Taruheru) Federation Jubilee Trophy for best piece of work in CWI Section, Kath Gaukrodger collected for Irene Tims (Town Centre) Kath Brown Trophy for best piece of work in Courts, Jean Mills collecting for Puha -Christina James Memorial for Institute gaining the most points, and Alison Crawford (Puha) Cooking Cup for most points in cooking.