facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News





Peter Stevens, Contract Manager for D. Stevens Ltd, infront of the N Z Master Builders Federation's selected 1st in the House of the Year ~ Category 4 -$250,000 to $400,000 range. The National Awards attracted 334 entrants in 6 categories. The finals, which took place in the Aotea Centre, was a huge formal dress affair with 600 people in attendance. The award is a 1st for Gisborne. The house, in Clifford Street, took 5 months to build, has 3 bedrooms, plus ensuite, family room, den, double garage & a magnificent river view.


Georgie Pie who pride themselves in teamwork have recognised two of their staff with the Top Crew Award which co-incides with Georgie Pie Gisborne's 1st Birthday. The award is decided by the staff who vote for the crew who, in their opinion, is the best to work with.


The A & P Show added a new concept in the Trades area with the Corson's Sport Expo Pavilion and a new Mainring competition called the Clash of the Codes. Elimination rounds lead to the 4pm Saturday Final of a series of 3 events requiring a top team effort, set up by YMCA staff. The winners take $1000, 2nd placegetters $500, 3rd $250 & 4th $100.


Assistant Manager Marie Samson presented Lisa Heemi (centre) and Doreen Tuapawa with their Top Crew Awards. Both Lisa and Doreen started with Georgie Pie from the beginning when Georgie Pie 1st opened in Gisborne.


Sandra Edge congratulates the winners of the 1st Clash of the Codes - the Rugby Union team of Tony Rasmussen, Aorangi Pahuru and Ron Tamatea.



Each year the Gisborne Principal's Association releases the Weka Ball Trophy (a mounted rugby ball bearing the signatures of the 1965 touring Springboks) to be played for on a Ranfurly Shield type Challenge among Gisborne's primary schools. Elgin lost to Cobham. Cobham defended against Mangapapa but lost to Kaiti who went on to successfully defend against Waikirikiri and thus are the Weka Ball holders for 1995.


State Insurance & Norwich Union have entered into a sponsorship deal to help save the endangered kokako. A design a poster competition to increase public awareness was recently judged by community leaders. Regional winning posters to be included in the National Competition, the overall winner to be formally presented to Prince Philip in November.


The McDonald's Young Writer of the Year competition has 2 more monthly winners who will meet Ronald McDonald in person at the Final Award Party to be held at McDonalds in December. Each month a story is selected from the many published in the Gisborne Herald. The winners of the last two months have both come from the same Room 5 class at Gisborne Intermediate. McDonald's Manager Don Carlton visited Room 5 armed with a video & some spare free coupons to congratulate the Young Writers of the Month


Keith Webber, Kaiti Principal Left) with Coach Api Rangihuna & 2yr old Sheridan. Back Vincent Warren, Sid Te Rata, Jason Naden & Israel Thompson. Middle: Travis Turipa, George Taitua, Peter McGhee, Adam White & Katene Lewis. Front: John-Koro Kerekere, Ruapani Muir, Ronald Hinaki with the Weka Ball, Ricky Kora & Linton Morrell.


Regional winners with Evan Morley State Insurance Branch Manager and Gisborne's Mayor John Clarke. Dongha Kim 3rd equal, Lidy Loffler 2nd equal, Daniel Drummond 1st equal, Joseph Tawhai 1st equal, Rebecca Daulton 2nd equal and Lisa Crawshaw 3rd equal.


Room 5 Teacher Jeff Hayward (left), Young Writers Olivia Boyle and Janine Williams with Don Carlton the local Owner / Manager of McDonalds.