facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News




Ilminster Intermediate

The Ilminster Netball Team that won the A Grade Intermediate Competition undefeated this year following winning the B Grade Competition undefeated last year. Definitely the team to watch over the next few years. Five of the girls are in their age group Alpha 2000 Sunrise Coast Rep Team.

Hallrite Building Recyclers

Undefeated in the JAB U/11 Competition, 1995, with 575 points for (115 tries) with less than 10 tries against them. Awesome attacking and valiant defending. Much credit to the sponsor, the school, the parents and the supporters who cheered them on.


Old Boy's U/21 team had a great 1995 season scoring & converting many tries. They defeated YMP in the Grand Final 18-10


Standing: Vicky Lee Te Puni-Ranginui, Lisa Winiata, Coralie Maxwell (Coach), Kelly Kohere Smiler and Crystal Karaka. Seated: Aroha Kerekere, Peggy Thompson and Tania Kingi.


Back: Victor Beach (left), Dale Kernohan, Horomona Tawera, Anarau Howell, John Stewart, Katene Te Kani, Mackey Niwha and John Semmens (Coach). Front: Nicky Whaitiri, Anthony Brown, Perenara O'Connell, Dean Ritchie and Anthony Robin.


Standing: Jim McGregor (Coach), Richard Meihana, Don Wright (Manager), Shaun Nepia, Kelvin Apanui, Craig Callaghan, Michael David, Jared Parker, Mathew Brown, Ron O'Conner, Martin Smith, Rob Brew, Kylie Smith, Vance Reid, Mike Karepe (Coach), Jamie Allen, Hugh Williams & Carlos Ngaira. Front: John Collier, Mica Meihana, Tim Sumerton, Jared Angland, Don Karaitiana, Henare Kaa, Mike Huriwai & Derek Paenga.


Gisborne City Sports Club

Gisborne City Sports Club presented their Soccer Awards at their End Of Year Prizegiving. 3rds: Wayne Dunn - Player of the Year & Matt Pears - Most Improved. 2nds: Blake Mulrooney - Player of the Year, Rendell McDonald - Most Improved & Paul Harrison - Golden Boot. Premiers: Craig West - Most Promising, Grant Cooper - Most Improved, Kevin Murray - Most Dedicated, Bruce Hill - Player's Player, Gavin Arthur - Golden Boot, John Gillies- Player of the Year& Player/CoachKen Cresswell was Club Person of the Year.

Gisborne Intermediate JAB Intermediate Grade Champs

Gisborne Intermediate Maroon completed the season undefeated. Their coach Keiha Waikari named Duane Hihi Player of the Year & Joshua Maynard as Most Improved. The success of the boys was their ability to play as a team with strong attacking, great defending and accurate goal kicking.

Gisborne Boys High 1st XI Soccer Team

The Gisborne Boys High Soccer Team attended the 2ndry Schools Satellite Tournament held in Napier. The only goal scored against this team in the whole tournament relegated them to the 3rd-4th play off against Onehunga High School which they won convincingly 5-0.


Back: Rendell (left), Kevin, Craig, John, Gavin, John Dwight (Chairman) & Grant. Front: Bruce, Blake & Ken.


The Team: Johnathon Gibson (back left), Latham Nepe, Joshua Maynard, Daniel Raggett, Falaani Liavaa & Keiha Waikari. Middle: Douglas Keefe, Neal Mossman, Duane Hihi, Vaughan Calinai, Joshua Duffey & David Wray. Front: Waihi Houkamau, Conan Nepe, Rowe Wharehinga, Jonas TeAho (Captain) & Richard Brown.


Back: Regan Russell, Craig West, Duncan Robertson, Peter Campbell & Peter Taylor. Middle: Malcolm Davidson, Stirling Willis-Burrows, Mark Jensen, Andrew Black, Grant Robinson, & Charlie Ure. Front: Rory White, Jared Davies, Brynmor Quilter, David Ure, Matthew Parkin, Darren Cudd & Ben Lewis.