facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News





Emma Fletcher (left), Megan McCoy, Haley Ataera & Claire Egan are the Vivaldi Quartet that was highly Commended at the recent Westpac Schools Music Competition. The Gisborne Girls' High pupils are a tightly knit group, well rehearsed, with great presentation who played The Seasons (Vivaldi) and a Jazz piece to compliment their versatility.


The Gisborne Boys' High School Group that won the Westpac Prize of $500, for their music department, at the recently held Westpac School Music Contest for Chamber Music. Chelak was judged to be the best school based group in the Gisborne competition. This prize was introduced in 1994 to encourage support for chamber music groups from their own school community. To celebrate the win the group performed in the foyer of the Westpac Bank to a lunchtime audience.


The Youth Division of the Order of St. John has a strong membership of more than 30 youngsters. The main objective is to be confident and capable of saving lives in emergencies. Winners of prizes for the Junior and Intermediate Grade Basic 1st Aid Test (practical & theory) were: Emmy Griffin (left), Renee Robertson, Adam Masemann & Jade Robertson. Absent: Loree Papuni and George Mite. Tony Vincent & Rusty Arnold of the East Coast Loggers Club presented a new trophy to the Division.

Photo courtesy of Westpac Banking Corporation



The Hawkes Bay / Gisborne District will be represented at the National Championships to be held at the Squash Racquets Club, Matamata, in September by 2 Gisborne E Grade teams. HSOB Ladies and Wearenga-A-Hika men were successful over Napier, Hastings, Wairoa, Gisborne & Matawai teams at the recently held District Elimination Finals.


The Poverty Bay Primary Girls Representative Team has shown that they are a potent combination. They shared the Parker Jane Shield with Central Hawkes Bay when they played in a tournament at Waipukarau earlier in the season. More recently they won the Rere Tupara Trophy at the Mini Tupara Tournament played in Gisborne. The team is building for the National Tournament to be held in Auckland.


The Waerenga-A-Hika Team. Back: Stu Willson (Manager), Mike Newman, Geoff Pollard and Chris Miller (coach) Front: Brett Sherriff, Kerry Corbett and Tom Recter. Absent: Mike Kater (inset right)


The HSOB Ladies Team. Back: Suzanne Bartlett, Shireen West, Jaye Woodford (Coach), Kim Thompson and Jan Morley. Front: Wendy Doleman, Kay Baillie and Bridget Mead.


Standing, Tegan Ahuriri (left). Jewel Swann, Te Wairimu Couper, Amy McGrannachan, Elizabeth Rickard, Jamie Cross, Kahlia Ferris & Kathy Wallace. Front: Jenny Dalrymple, Te Rawarewa Keepa, Rebecca McNamara and Charmaine Tangira. Absent: Tineille Charteris and their coach Peter McGrannachan.