facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News




The ladies of the Gisborne Embroidery Guild worked on this embriodery strip (158 hrs work) which will join the embroidery of other guilds creating a large hanging depicting "life in NZ" to decorate the refurbished Parliament Building in Wgtn.

A Comet Swim Team flew to Nelson to compete in the National Age group Championships Division II.

The Shand Cup U/14 Provincial Tennis Tournament was held in Rotorua where teams competing are: Counties, Waikato, Western Bay of Plenty, Bay of Plenty & Poverty Bay.


Some of the guild with the strip are: Erica Andrew (left), June MacKay, Diane Robertson, Jean Lees, Balmai Haynes, Irene Smith, Biddy Kendrew, Ngaira Walworth & Ethel Korte.


Back (from left): Nigel O'Leary (Comet Club Chairman), Moana Wyllie, Greg Meade (Chief Coach), Brian Willock & Jack Mitchell. Front Cynthia Malone (Coach), Raewyn Bull (Coach), Chloe Willock (Bronze), Rachel Malone (Gold), Carolyn Malone (Gold) & Rebecca O'Leary. Katrina Kirikino was absent from the photo but was one of this highly successful team.


Wendy Lofter (left) Manager of the Poverty Bay team with: Mark Barnes Graham, Scott Colebourne, Raymond Fraser, Cuni Tuwairua, Erica Jones, Renee Grant & Holly Thorpe. Front: Joe Loffler, Aaron Welch & Rosemary Wall. They may not have won all their matches but played well gaining a taste of representing their province and offering National Selectors a chance to see them in action.


Life Membership was awarded to Phyllis Quirk and Lorna Keene for their contribution to Badminton in Gisborne. Both have been driving forces as coaches etc. Lorna is a past President of the P.B. Assn & is a top rep player in the Masters Division. Phyllis was a member of the Gisborne Club in 1930, the Kiwi Club in the 60's & joined the Racquets Club in 1968. Lately Phylis is a keen organiser of the Social Mornings, catering for the 30+ age group.

"The Future of Lifesaving" is how Lyall Evans, Wainui Club President, described this group of Wainui Nippers.

There were 35 Nippers who passed the course set up by the Wainui SLSC (a few were absent for this photo)

The Poverty Bay Junior Polo Cross Representative Team competed in the National Junior Championships held at Tekapau (Waipukurau). They proved to be the best of the 6 other Centres in that grade to come out Champions for 1995. Poverty Bay is one of the strongest junior centres in NZ nuturing 47 competing juniors. The teams of six are open to both genders with each rider requiring only a horse, a racquet & the skills of riding to join a team.


Bruce Ledger (left) the PB & EC Assn President with Phylis, Lorna, Sonia Jones (Secretary) and John Chamberlain (Treasurer)


Back: David Knubley Snr & son, Tony Sharp (Coach), Kevin Mastrovich (Co-ordinator), Lyall Evans & son. 3rd row: Sasha Bridson, Nicky Davies, Natalie Scandlyn, Katy Owen, Rebecca McCarthy, Penny Sharp, Jessica Bridson, Tanya Gillard, Jackie Lear & Cory Williams. 2nd row: Olivia McCarthy, Michele Blumfield, Ben Cowper, Kimberly Mackey, Kurt Mastrovich, Tony Berry, Darren Hooks, Rory McLaughlin, Craig Dockery, Shane Hooks & Sam Lear. Front Mia Carrie, Karl Williams, Warren Muir, Laura Sharp, Thomas Lear, David Knubley, Karl Dockery, Nicholas O'Leary & Steven Mills.


The 1995 National Junior Champions are: Keith Henderson (left), Juane Williams, Robert Green, Chris Winiata, Nadia Hohipa & Valencia McIlroy.