facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News



Womens Health League


The Women's Health League was founded in 1937 by Nurse Robina Cameron with Marae based groups who established good basic health rules. The three surviving Tairawhiti groups are Puha, Te Karaka & Manutuke-Muriwai met for the 1st time "all together" for a pre Christmas dinner. Some of the "long time" members are: Siggy Pohatu (back left), Charlotte Hitaua (Secretary), Mick Brown, Meri Ruru, Graham Hillman (Treasurer), & Lena Peka. Front: Hiki Nepia (left), Jocelyn Hillman (Tairawhiti President), Gladiys Ruru (longest serving member since 1947), Lovey Pohoiwi, Pansy Nepia, Bessie Paratene and Alice Turipa.