facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News




The Peace Shield origi nated in 1920 after a whip around by the members of the Poverty Bay Club to buy a shield to celebrate the 1918 peace. Now the P Shield Tournament is open to Pov Bay /East Coast Bowling Centre. To make the finals a team needs to win 5 of 6 games in the qualifying round.


Bede McLoughlln Pres. of the Pov. Bay Bowling Club, Maurice Lynch for Gisborne Herald Commercial Print (the P Shield sponsors) & the winning team of Ken Goodwin, Jack Clark, Don McDonald & Arthur Hawes with Centre Controller Campbell McFariane.


Warwick Davy (left) and Arthur Hawes were the opposing skips In the final.


Roger Marshall, Ray Taylor, Warwick Davy and Arnold Hutchins with the 1945 Allan Slight Memorial Shield.