facebook   twitter   mail  

The Nelson Photo News



Schools' Life-Saving

The Nelson College for Girls A team again won the Rosebowl awarded by the Nelson branch of the Royal Life Saving Society, when the schools competed for the trophy recently. Nelson College was second, Girls' College B was third and Sacred Heart B fourth.


John Christine and Nigel Hands and Dennis Maddever and Donald Hannah are put through their rescue drill. At top right is the Girls' College winning team comprising Kirsty Bolton (instructor), Dyanne Barnett, Anne Houston, Susan Gilmour, Joy Walls. Girls' college B, on the second row, was Ruth Harley (ins), Kathryn Anderson, Margaret Wedde, Evelyn Williams and Leigh Houston. Sacred Heart B (third row) was Judy Holden (ins), Mary Harvey, Colleen Costello, Maria De Lorenzo and Susan Reedy. The Nelson College team (below) was Stephen Calder (ins), Dennis Maddever, Donald Hannah, John Christie and Nigel Hands.