facebook   twitter   mail  

The Nelson Photo News



Ngawhatu's Champion Form

What a year it's been for the Ngawhatu Bowling Club. Earlier in the season its senior four won the chamapion-of-champions title, then towards the end of the month, both the senior and junior pairs teams won the champion-of-champions pairs, emulating for the first time in 20 years the feat of the Maitai club in 1947. The junior pair of Paddy Ring (s) and Ted Clark (below) beat the Tahunanui team of George Sydney (s) and Phil Wells (below right), 31-12, but it was not till the last end that Leon Johnson and Allan Chittenden (s), above, beat the Nelson pair of Doug Johnson and John O'Kane (s), above right. 17—16, and in a highly dramatic manner. In this game, father (Doug Johnson) opposed his son (Leon), at right. The champion Ngawhatu four is at top: Barry McGregor, Richard Walker, Leon Johnson and Allan Chittenden (s).