facebook   twitter   mail  

The Nelson Photo News



Driving Final Won By Kim Gallagher

The Nelson-Marlborough regional final of the Atlantic-Jaycee Teenage Driver of the Year contest was won by Kim Gallagher of Annesbrook, from Steven Baigent, Nelson, and Chris Walbran, Richmond. There were eight finalists, five from Nelson and three from Blenheim.


Runner-up Steven Baigent receives his prize from Traffic Officer D. H. Boyes. Above Right–Chris Walbran (third), Steven Baigent (second) and Kim Gallagher (the winner) after the final. Right – John Gibson, Wakefield, bumps one of the obstacles in the skill test.


Seven of the finalists in front of the vehicles supplied by M. S. Motors for the contest. From left, Chris Walbran, Steven Baigent, Kim Gallagher, John Gibson, and Blenheim contestants Graeme Boon, Christine Tapp and Chris Holdaway