facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News



Gisborne The Winners

Inflicting a rather hard defeat on their opponents the 3rd Gisborne Company of the Boys' Brigade beat their 1st Napier Company opposites by 34 to nil in their annual rugby game for the Boys' Brigade Flag. Gisborne has now won the game twice and Napier once. The Napier team tried very hard but just couldn't cope with the tough Gisborne competition, The game was the last event in a programme put on for the visit of the Napier boys.


The triumphant Gisborne team is, from left, in front, Whairiri Wanoa, Te Hei Kaiwai, Mita Waititi, William Hollis, Andrew Lambert, Lance Jones and Warren Short. At back, William Crawford, Gary Reid, Keith Rowe, Craig McLean, Warren Brown, Tama Haapu, Dean Taewa and Neil Mumu.


Captains Neil Mumu and Phillip Le Comte with the prized trophy.


The Napier team is, from left, in front, Andrew Kite, Philip Johnston, Stuart Campbell, Glen Stuart, Gordon Mitchell, Steven Kite, Kyle Tostevin and Peter Kite. At back, Paul McKenny, Warren More, Phillip Le Comte, Stephen Johnston, David Rudd, Geoffrey Tully and Donald Christensen.