facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News



Sea Scouts' Regatta


A full programme of life-saving, sailing and rowing races was on the agenda of the Combined Sea Scouts' Regatta, held over March 3 and 4. Eventual winner of the prestige award, the Ex-Navalmen's shield, was Kaiti. Pictured with the trophy, the group is, from left, in front, Ian Cooper, Kenneth Sleeman, Murray Reid, Chris Speakman, Michael Waikari, David Ibbotson, Philip Reed, Chris Jarvis and Brian O'Donnell (assistant Leader). Second row: Mr Sid Reed (Group Leader), Whainoa Waikari, Cliff Peterson, Wayne Bloxham, Richard Bennefield, Jack Clark, Mokena Waikari, Peter Hall and Kevin Rutherford (assistant Leader). Back row: Gregor Barclay, Guy Tomlinson, Richard Stannard, Ross Scott, Stephen Inglis, Stuart Chrisp, Peter Solvander and Simon Stannard.


Boat inspection was carried out by Mr Graham Wallen.


One race Kaiti didn't win was this one in which they were second to Tainui.