facebook   twitter   mail  

The Gisborne Photo News



Out and About


Sweeping all before them the L.D.S. Ladies' Hockey team has, this year, taken all the. trophies associated with the annual Maori Hockey tournament. These include the Lady Arihia Ngata Gold Cup, the Mrs Te Kane Pere Cup, the Teria Pere and Winiata Smiler Gold Cup. All those responsible for the success are, from left, at back, Messrs Tom Smiler (president), Percy Reedy (assistant coach), Mrs Julia Smiler (chaperon), and Messrs Harry Ngaira (chairman), and Tom Smiler, jnr, (coach). Centre: Sue Allen, Bobbie Maxwell, Violet Ngaira (vice-captain), Queenie Reedy (captain), Dianne Rogers, Lydia Hamon, Frances Tuhaka, and, in front, Alice Brown, Sue Clark, Philippa Bradey, Viki Smiler and Carole Smiler. Absent: Josephine Smiler, Polly Smiler, Lynn Hope and Pat Mahoney.


Gisborne members of the American Field Service were hosts during the school holidays to twelve American Field Scholars who are spending the year at schools in the South Island. Pictured on arrival at the railway station the group shows the Gisborne host in front with the visitor at the back, viz., Trish Coupe and Kerry Hobbs (Gisborne), Jane Bird and Andy Armin (California), Anne Poulgrain and Sara Engesser (California), Mary-Ann Robinson and Val Agee (California), Lee Purcell and Barbie Tilton (Montana), Mandy Shaw and Lyn Bowman (New York), Marion Bibby and Barbie Hulem (New York), Geordie Thorpe and Steve Robinson (Alabama), Susan Carruthers and Kris Holland (Minnesota), Noel Hobbs and Fred Knight (Minnesota), Maxine Jones and Connie Smith (Wisconsin), Lawrence Rhodes and Mike Henson (California), and Diana Jones and Woody Egger (Texas).